League of 12 Cities–Dodecapolis

“Arezzo * Cerveteri * Chiusi * Cortona * Perugia * Populonia * Veii * Tarquinia-Corneto * Vetulonia * Volterra * Bolsena * Volci

The Aeolian Greeks, Ionian Greeks, and Etruscans all preserved ancient memories of how their ancestors were linked together in leagues of twelve that jointly honored a sacred place. No definitive list survives, however. The cities above are the most widely accepted modern Italian cities that have an Etruscan foundation, though there may have been three separate Etruscan leagues, each composed of twelve cities.”

Excerpted from: Rogerson, Barnaby. Rogerson’s Book of Numbers: The Culture of Numbers–from 1,001 Nights to the Seven Wonders of the World. New York: Picador, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.