Four Rivers of Mount Kailash

Ganges * Indus * Sutlej * Brahmaputra

Mount Kailash is holy to a fifth of mankind–Hindus, Jains and Buddhists–as well as being the source of the sacred Mount Meru at the dawn of Aryan consciousness. It is the source of four holy rivers, The Ganges, the sacred river of India, flows through the gorge of the Peacock’s Mouth. The Indus is the Lion-Mouthed river which gave birth to the Harappa, one of the oldest, most peaceful and little-known of the world’s urban civilizations. The Sutlej flows through Elephant’s Mouth gorge and the Brahmaputra through Horse Mouth gorge.”

Excerpted from: Rogerson, Barnaby. Rogerson’s Book of Numbers: The Culture of Numbers–from 1,001 Nights to the Seven Wonders of the World. New York: Picador, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.