6 Evolutionary Stages of History

“Clan communism * Autocratic Monarchy * Feudalism * Capitalism * Socialism * Communism

This is the Communist view of history, as set out by Marx and Engels, looking out over the wreck of the various social revolutions what were destroyed in the 1840s and dreaming of inevitable victory in the future. First we have the primitive clan communism of hunter-gatherer families; then once irrigated riverine agriculture is developed, the ancient autocratic monarchies, which endure as empires until they collapse from the weight of their own military-bureaucracy into the more enduring feudalism. With the growth of cities and maritime trading nations, feudalism matures into capitalism, which through the dictates of growth, decency, and efficiency evolves into industrialized socialism, which perfects as communism.

Excerpted from: Rogerson, Barnaby. Rogerson’s Book of Numbers: The Culture of Numbers–from 1,001 Nights to the Seven Wonders of the World. New York: Picador, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.