25 Wards of the City of London

“Aldersgate * Aldgate * Bassishaw * Billingsgate * Bishopsgate * Bread Street * Bridge and Bridge Without * Broad Street * Candlewick * Castle Baynard * Cheap * Coleman Street * Cordwainer * Cornhill * Cripplegate * Dowgate * Farrington Within * Farrington Without * Langbourn * Lime Street * Portsoken * Queenhithe * Tower * Vintry * Walbrook

There have been twenty-five wards of the City of London for the last 1,000 years. They occasionally get bumped up by a sub-division, or down by an amalgamation, but happily we are set on twenty-five at the moment. In ancient days these wards allowed for a mosaic of parish-like administration, little self-governing communities with their own assemblies (wardmote), wells, local markets, cemeteries, systems of public order (three elected beadles), and charities presided over by an Alderman who formed a sort of Senate of London, the Court of Aldermen. From this court, the separate system of Livery Companies (trade guilds) elected a Lord Mayor, replaced every year to soften any authoritarian tendencies.”

Excerpted from: Rogerson, Barnaby. Rogerson’s Book of Numbers: The Culture of Numbers–from 1,001 Nights to the Seven Wonders of the World. New York: Picador, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.