Book of Answers: Selma Lagerlof

Who was the first woman to be awarded the Nobel Prize in literature? Selma Lagerlof of Sweden was awarded the prize in 1909. She is known for such works as Jerusalem (1901-1902), a collection of stories about Swedish peasant life.

Excerpted from: Corey, Melinda, and George Ochoa. Literature: The New York Public Library Book of Answers. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1993.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.