12 Emblems of Supreme Authority

“Sun * Moon * Stars * Axe * Fu * Pair of Sacrificed Cups * Water Weed * Mountains * Five-clawed Dragon * Pheasant * Grain * Fire

These twelve emblems were embroidered onto the Chinese Emperor’s yellow silk robe during the Qianlong Period, the first six symbols on the front, the others on the back. The axe symbolized the power of execution; a Fu is a good fortune symbol; the dragon symbolized the power to guard from harm, rain, good fortune, full harvest, and protection against fire; the grain the ability to feed; and the fire, brilliance.”

Excerpted from: Rogerson, Barnaby. Rogerson’s Book of Numbers: The Culture of Numbers–from 1,001 Nights to the Seven Wonders of the World. New York: Picador, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.