Octavia Butler

“Octavia Butler: (1947-2006) American novelist and short-story writer. Butler, who is the first black woman to achieve recognition for writing science fiction, has won the top honors in her field, the Hugo and Nebula awards. She is best known as the author of the Patternist series (Patternmaster, 1976; Mind of My Mind, 1977; Survivor, 1978; Wild Seed, 1980; Clay’s Ark, 1984), based on a society whose inhabitants have evolved telepathic powers. The most successful of her other novels is Kindred (1979), the tale of Dana Franklin, who is mysteriously transported from her 1975 Los Angeles home across time and space to emerge in 1830s Maryland as a free black woman in a slave state. Other works include Dawn (1987), Adulthood Rites (1988), and Imago (1989), the Xenogenesis trilogy, and Parable of the Sower (1993).”

Excerpted from: Murphy, Bruce, ed. Benet’s Reader’s Encyclopedia, Fourth Edition. New York: Harper Collins, 1996.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.